Oakville Images
Bronte Horticultural Society meeting minutes (1925)

Media Type:
Item Type:
Date of Publication:
24 Apr 1925
Local identifier:
Language of Item:
Copyright Statement:
Copyright status unknown. Responsibility for determining the copyright status and any use rests exclusively with the user.
Bronte Horticultural Society
Full Text

[Page 1]


The Bronte Horticultural Society

The First Meeting of the members of the Horticultural Society of Bronte was opened in the Public School Hall at 8 O'clock in the evening. Rev. W. Moore presided.

Mr. Moore was elected acting Chairman and H.G. Belyea Society Protem.

The Chairman explained the Act respecting the Society. He outlined the business as carried on to the present time - the business of enrolling members the primal steps of forming the Society.

The nominations for President were then in order.

Rev. G. W. Moore nominated by Mr. Beally, Mr. Dolson nominated by Mr. Moore, the latter having been permitted to vacate the chair in order to nominate.

Several others were nominated: Mr. Rose, Mr. Boyd, Mr. Beasley, Mr. Brechon, all the names having given plausible reasons withdraw except Mr. F. Beasley who

[Page 2]

The Bronte Horticultural Society

was elected President of the Society.

The required number of members to form the society was attained by canvassers.

A meeting of the members was called on April 24 for the purpose of electing officers. The following offices were to be filled; President - 2nd Vice President - 3rd Vice President - Sec. Treasurer, and ten Directors, five directors were to be elected for 1 year and 5 for 2 years.

The positions were filled by a vote by ballot.

Mr. F. Beasley was elected President of the Society.

Nominations for First Vice President were:

Miss E. Bray nominated by Mr. A. Packard

Mr. R. Thurston " " Miss E. Bray

Mr. Atkins " " Mr. Dobson

Mrs. Boswell " " Mr. Boyd

[Page 3]

Mrs. Morris nominated by Mrs. Boswell

Miss. E. Bray, Mr. R. Thurston, Mrs. Boswell, Mrs. Morris asked that their names be withdrawn.

It was moved by Mr. W.H. Cudmore and seconded by Mr. Jas. Dobson that Mr. G. C. Atkins be 1st Vice-President. This motion was carried.

Nominees for the position of 2nd Vice-President were as foll.:

Mr. J. T. Rose nominated by Mr. Dobson

Mrs. Boswell " " Mr. Boyd

Miss E. Bray " " Mr. Pickard

Mrs. J. Joyce " " Mrs. Bray

Mr. R. MacDonald " " Mr. Pickard

Mr. J. Dobson " " Harry Belyea

All names were asked to be withdrawn and Mr. Henry Brechon's nomination for 2nd Vice President became unanimous, as voiced by the members.

Moved by Mr. Boyd and seconded

[Page 4]

by Mr. Dobson that Mr. H. Brechon be 2nd Vice-President. This motion was carried unanimously.

The nominations of 5 directors. 5 Directors elected for 2 years were in order.

It was moved by Mr. H. Brechon and seconded by Mr. Cudmore that Mr. J.T. Rose, Mr. Dobson, Miss E. Bray, Mrs. Boswell, and Mrs. Morris be the 5 Directors for 2 years.

This motion was carried. The names nominated for the One year Directorate were as foll.: Mrs. J. Joyce, Mrs. Fell, Ray MacDonald, Mr. G.W. Moore, Vernon Belyea, Mrs. J.W. Cartwright, Mr. R. Thurston, and Mrs. L. Thurston. As a result of the voting by ballot, the five Directors for 1 year were as follows: Mr. Moore, Mr. R. MacDonald, Mrs. Fell, Mrs. J. Joyce and Mr. Vernon Belyea.

[Page 5]

A Suggestive Outline of work that might be carried out by the society was given by Mr. Moore.

Prizes might be given for the best garden. He suggested that a show of the vegetables, flowers, etc. be arranged. He thought that the society might stimulate the beautification of Public properties and encourage the extermination of "eye sores" to the village.

It might be possible to give back seeds, etc. as part of the premium, even if this year under a handicap. The control of the "Gore" was a Topic introduced which was later discussed, especially by Mr. Thurston and Mr. Moore.

Mr. Boyd thought that interest may be aroused by individuals giving prizes.

It was suggested also

[Page 6]

that the Committee call up on active proximate societies to look into matters of procedure.

It was moved by Mr. Cudmore and seconded by Mr. Dobson that H.G. Belyea and H.V. Guest be the two auditors for the ensuing year. The motion was carried.

Moved by Mr. Dobson and seconded by Mr. Cudmore that the meeting adjourn and that the Directors remain to finish up immediate business. The motion was carried.

At the meeting of the directors Miss E. Bray moved that Ray MacDonald be Sect. Tres. This motion was carried. There was a discussion in the meeting and Mr. Moore moved that there be a meeting next Friday night, May 1 at 8 p.m. seconded by Mr. Dobson. This motion was carried.

For next Friday night each director was to was to think over the subject and bring any suggestions and was to be held at Mr. F. Beasley. Moved by Mr. Moore and seconded by Mrs. Morris (carried).

Powered by / Alimenté par VITA Toolkit

My favourites lets you save items you like, tag them and group them into collections for your own personal use. Viewing "My favourites" will open in a new tab. Login here or start a My favourites account.

Bronte Horticultural Society meeting minutes (1925)